Friends / Jesus! / Music / Teaching

Christmas Season

Tonight, my church had its annual Christmas program. Families provide musical acts, children put on a program with the Christmas story, and everybody leaves with a goody bag! I organized a small choir to sing “In the First Light,” a song I loved singing at Sterling College. I also played flute duets with Sally, our pastor’s wife. It was fun! I forgot how much I enjoy playing! The kiddos were adorable, and their little program had the typical mistakes in it, like not talking loud enough, costumes falling off (the sheep were literally shedding as the crawled up to the stage!), and people missing their entrances. But, you gotta love it! I’m so blessed to have found a vibrant church in this little place!
Our last day of school is tomorrow, FINALLY. I miss my family very much!!!  Then, I’m planning on grading everything that’s been piling up for the past week, cleaning my house from top to bottom, doing all my laundry, and making a shopping list for the trip home. Yes, I’ve not done one iota of shopping for Christmas. (Except Katie’s gift, which I need to mail.) So, I suppose I have to brave the Christmas Eve’s Eve crowd, one of the things I HATE to do. It’s all my fault though. I didn’t plan ahead.
Oooo, I need to write my Christmas letter, too! Oh, it’s stressful, isn’t it?

I wish we could de-commercialize Christmas just a bit. I know Jesus wouldn’t have enjoyed watching greedy people shop around this time of year.

I guess one reason I don’t already have all this stuff done is that I’ve actually had a social life lately. :)  I have friends! Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights were spent here or there with my friends, eating way too much sugar and pizza, watching “White Christmas,” and playing games. It has made the stress of kids, finals, and everything else much easier to deal with. I love my friends!

Leave a Reply

