I'm an English Nerd / Teaching

Wondering

Do you ever wish you knew whether or not you were doing something the right way? I wish I could take all English teachers that are my age and in a similar setting, teaching the same classes. How different would we be? Do I focus too much on reading and not enough on writing? Am I too sarcastic around the kids? Do I work too much? Do I not work enough?

I guess it’s that human desire to want to compare yourself to others. And, really, what’s the point in that? You are where you are, doing what you can do, as well as you can do it. That should be enough. Yet, I don’t think that is enough for me. I’m constantly wanting to know whether or not I’m meeting the standard. (I guess I’ll find out if the Juniors met the standard in writing next week.)   :)

And now for something completely different:

I’m up at 12:02 a.m. waiting for an audiobook to download (check it out KS residents! http://kansas.lib.overdrive.com will allow you to download audiobooks and listen to them! You have to have a KS Library Card and then download the media player, but it’s beyond easy!!). I’m downloading “The Odyssey” so that I can listen to it on my way to Hays tomorrow. I’m trying to get started on reading for this summer’s courses even though I’m not finished with last summer’s papers. :)  Maybe tomorrow will find me productive in both of those categories!!

I’m happy to be taking a small break from high school, and I refuse to take any work with me! I’m only focusing on my MA classes. High School can wait…though I’m super glad the sophomores are just watching To Kill a Mockingbird. That made it easy to leave them in the afternoon three times this week. Forensics, this trip to Hays, and the dentist on Friday. I hate being gone from school, though. It’s hard to get the kids to accomplish anything, and it takes forever to plan for!

Leave a Reply

