Books! / Family / Future / I'm an English Nerd / Jesus!

Still a Student!

I’m in my second week of Masters classes in English at Hays. So far, so good. Only one class this month and two the next. I’m hoping to write my three papers from last year during June, along with the paper for this current class–get it done while I’m thinking about it! When I compare this year to last year, I’m blown away by how much more confident, able, and stress-free I am. I know what to expect. The reading is easier since last year’s load truly made me a better (and faster) reader, and taking three classes as opposed to five–FABULOUS!! 

Side note: NEVER read Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf. It’s horrendously drawn out and boring. And, ask me in a few weeks to find out for sure, but I’m pretty sure you should never read The Life and Opinions of Tristram Shandy by Laurence Stern. Reprehensible (seriously, people of the late 1700s did think this!)!! 

I went home last weekend to help mom and dad with their townhouse. Things are coming along nicely. The deadline is August. I think we can do it, but so little of it depends on me. The bulk of the work lies on Dad and Jon’s shoulders. They can insulate, plumb, wire, and do all those technical jobs I have no clue about. They’re so capable! That’s the best part about redoing this house–it’s basically all done by my family!

David and Whitney are going to China in August for two years to teach English. I hope to go visit them, maybe next summer. However, in class yesterday, Dr. Duffy was telling us that if we wanted to go over and teach college courses for Hays, she’d sign us up in a heartbeat. I checked out the towns, and they are about 8-10 hours from where D&W will be. Hmmmm…..maybe I should just do that! August 2010 China? Who knows! That’s the great thing about living this life with my Savior. I don’t plan it all out (much to my chagrin). He has it all set up for me. I just need to get there in one piece! China in 2010? Hmmmmm…..

Leave a Reply

