Books! / I'm an English Nerd / Sports

Crunch Time!

I love reading. No matter when or where, nothing beats the feel of a book in your hands and the sound of the pages turning as your mind flies to Pemberly, Vietnam, California, a middle school in London, or an island off the coast of New Zealand.

Those are all fictional novels, and good ones to boot, but can I say I look at academic reading in the same way? Most definitely not. There is the rare essay that will show me something completely new, usually in the field of education, but reading people’s theories on Sacred Narratives? Reading about those crazy literary critics’ ideas about what you can draw from a text? NO! My mind wanders, I lose the main point, I have to constantly re-read, and I do not enjoy it.
This weekend was filled mostly with fictional reading, which was great! And, I’ve only two works left before I’m finished with the reading for these two classes. Add on one take home exam, one small presentation, and two project presenations, and my work for this summer’s session is done! So, I’m hoping to use the time I have here to work on papers from last year and this year. I’m a planner, and I like to tell others about my plans. If you don’t want to hear about them, feel free to stop reading now. Sometimes I have to just sit down and write it all out!

I will finish my grammar paper from last year (it’s basically outlined, and after a little more reading, I can begin writing).

I will write my Community-Based Writing paper before I leave Hays!! It is a great topic (Intergenerational Service Learning) which I’ve found lots of info on. The paper will practically write itself! :)  Wouldn’t that be nice?

Those are my first two priorities. If there is any time left over, I will strive to write one more paper, probably from one of this month’s classes–Film and Lit or Mythology.

That will leave me (providing the profs get them graded in time) 15 hours of graduate work completed! Then I can move over on the salary schedule, which would be great, since I’ve dropped my Concession Stand supplemental.

Okay, enough planning and plotting. I should probably go do something.

Did I tell you I’m going to start training for a 5K race? :) :)

Leave a Reply

