Dave Ramsey / Future / Teaching

Careers

In the Dave Ramsey class I’m taking, we have been talking about finding a job you love. Dave prefaced all of this with facts about how, in just two generations, career longevity has changed dramatically. I knew this was true, as I’ve told my seniors every year that they may change their career five to six times throughout their lives. However, until recently, I figured I would be teaching High School English for the rest of my life.

As a young girl, what I wanted to become changed on a daily basis, from librarian to Reba McEntire to bus driver to pro tennis player (yes, for awhile I really wanted to be Jennifer Capriati). Having started my fourth year as a High School English teacher, I am sure I will be a teacher for the rest of my life. However, I’m learning that that doesn’t necessarily mean I will always be in a high school English classroom. I could be in China, teaching college students how to write in English. I could be in Morocco, teaching first graders how to add and subtract. I could be at home, teaching my four-year-old how to read. I could even see myself in an administrative position teaching teachers how to teach.

Wherever I find myself teaching, I know that I will not grow weary of it. Teaching is definitely what God put me on this planet to do. I welcome the changes of subject matter and the new things I will learn along the way. After all, I love learning, and that’s what you do the most when you teach!

Leave a Reply

