Family / Future / Jesus! / Traveling

Globetrotting

My brother and sister-in-law have been in China for three months teaching English at a university in Baoding. They are so enjoying it! I didn’t doubt that they would. Those two have traveled to more countries in the past three years than most people travel to in their entire lives! And, each time they’ve gone somewhere, I’ve learned something new about a country, people group, religion, or culture.

I realize I have little grasp on what they have experienced in their travels (as I had difficulty putting my experiences in Brazil into words), but I’ve sure enjoyed learning from their experiences. It inspires me to travel abroad again, someday, maybe after I’ve paid off my college loans and have purchased a newer car. :) My older brother and I are going to plan a trip to see them in 2011. (I guess I better get a second job!) From hearing about the culture and seeing their videos, I can’t wait to explore there!

Every time I’ve traveled, I’ve been in awe about how many people there are on this planet. Coming from a small town magnifies this concept for me, I’m sure, but it truly is amazing. My sis said that her students think Boading is a small town with little to entertain them. However, the city and the area around it totals no less than 10 million people!

One of my grandparents’ friends is teaching in China, too. He told us that he lives in the 24th largest city in China, but if that city were actually in the US, it would be the 4th largest city. Incomprehensible!

Even more incomprehensible, though, is the fact that regardless of how many people there were, are, or will be, God created, knows, and loves EACH ONE of them! That is amazing.

Leave a Reply

