Books! / Current Events / Sports

Motivation

Why is motivation so difficult to come by sometimes? I probably have more pressing projects to finish in the next few days than I’ve had in several months! But, I just can’t seem to get started on some of them. And, the ones I start, I can’t find the momentum to finish. Part of it is probably due to the end of the holidays. And, for once, this New Year’s wasn’t an exciting one. I usually get all reflective about the previous year and then begin to think, dream, and plan for the next year, but I haven’t had any epiphanies or bursts of motivation. I didn’t even celebrate on New Year’s Eve because I was too tired from driving home late and unloading my car. I think I’m just getting older. :)

So, I guess I’ll channel some of my lack of motivation into production by telling you about some interesting stories I found when I was trying to find motivation earlier today (read: avoiding work by surfing the Internet).

CNN holds voting for a Hero of the Year at the end of each year. People vote to pick one of the ten do-gooders for the award. One story that really touched me was that of Jorge Munoz. He’s a bus driver in Queens who makes about $700 a week, but spends $400 to $450 per week feeding the homeless homecooked meals in the evenings–every evening of the week! And, he’s been doing this for four years–hasn’t missed a day. You can read the article CNN did by going here: http://edition.cnn.com/2009/LIVING/03/19/cnnheroes.jorge.munoz/index.html

Another random story I found was that of Harvard basketball player, Jeremy Lin. He’s one of the .3% Asian college basketball players. His father immigrated from China in the 70s and taught his son how to play basketball at a very young age. Jeremy has been a stand out in the last few major games Harvard has had, and their season is going well. Lin has encountered quite a bit of racism from basketball fans, but he says he doesn’t let it bother him because he is used to it. That made me sad. I haven’t considered prejudices towards Asians due to my lack of interaction with them, but I now realize they also have to deal with racial issues. The article also pointed out that Lin is a Christian and will probably me going into the ministry after he graduates. This is the kind of news I like to hear about. Good people doing GREAT things!!

You can read more by clicking here: http://www.time.com/time/nation/article/0,8599,1951044,00.html

Over break, we did watch Julie and Julia (though I think that’s the only movie I was able to cross off the list!), and I found Julia Child to be very fascinating. However, it seemed like the film didn’t have very many close up shots of Child. I wonder if this was because examining her face too closely would have ruined the suspension of disbelief. Anyway, it was a very interesting movie, with lots to think about concerning both food and blogging. I was a bit annoyed at how Julie literally idolized Julia Child. It almost got too sappy at some points. But, I digress. My reason for bringing this up was to tell you I found another “foodie” book (yes, that’s what they’re called) that piqued my interest: The Sharper Your Knife, The Less You Cry. This one is about a thirtysomething who loses her corporate job and decides to take off to pursue her lifelong dream of earning her cooking degree from Le Cordon Bleu Culinary School in France (the same one that Julia Child attended).

Well, have I provided you with some deviations away from your work? You should probably get back to work now. I’m going to bed!

Leave a Reply

