Family

When Someone is Here

My house has so much more life in it when someone comes to visit me. I really enjoy it! Dad has been able to stay overnight on his truck routes twice this year, and Emily came for the whole weekend. We’re going to celebrate Valentine’s Day with a shopping expedition!

There are many reasons I love having someone else here:  I actually have someone to talk to, I can cook good meals, my fridge isn’t quite so bare, I can share all the things I’ve been learning, and I feel SO loved! It’s an emotion I can’t quite explain. I hope it’s an inkling of what it might be like to be married. Maybe it’s a feeling of security. Maybe it’s some source of motivation, having someone around. I don’t know what it is, but I really like it.

This feeling I get when “someone is here” can be somewhat counterfeited by Facebook. In the past, I’ve used Facebook as a source of interaction among my family and friends. However, I’ve seen how counterfeit this interaction is, and I’m currently on a Facebook hiatus.

There are several reasons why I love Facebook: I’m far away from friends and family, so I go there to catch up. I’m an extrovert, so seeing what everyone is up to fulfills some sort of social need in my life (though it’s not as effective as actually being with people; it’s counterfeited). I am at the stage of life where people begin getting married and having babies, so it’s lots of fun to look at how my friends’ lives are changing.

However, these positive reasons bring up other negative aspects of Facebook for myself: I use Facebook as an excuse to not do my work. I use Facebook as place to go when I’m depressed or  overwhelmed. I compare myself to other people (which I already do too much anyway!) and become unhappy with where I am in life.

So, at this point in time, as I’m facing a time crunch with my Master’s degree and living a fulfilling single life, the negative aspects of Facebook outweigh the positive aspects. Will I stay away forever? Probably not. Facebook is a wonderful way to keep in touch with friends and family. And, I enjoy posting photos of what I’m up to on Facebook. Nonetheless, for now, Facebook has been put on the back burner.


Leave a Reply

