Dave Ramsey / Friends / Teaching / Traveling

Traveling

Last weekend, I went shopping with Emily and found 2 coats (with sleeves long enough for my arms) and one pair of “touring shoes,” made by Merrell. The two coats were on sale (Feb. is a good month to buy winter coats), but the shoes set me back 95 bucks. In CASH, Dave Ramsey. No worries! I’ve come to the conclusion that I am going to have to plunk down the dough if I’m going to wear shoes that support me and are comfortable. It’s worth it! My Merrells are awesome.

Those items were purchased in anticipation of our upcoming DC Trip! Andrea and I are taking 14 students on a trip to our nation’s capital over Spring Break. I am very excited about this since I’ve always wanted to see DC. I love our nation’s history, and I can’t wait to walk on the same ground so many great leaders walked on before me. Abraham Lincoln is probably my favorite president. Such courage in such a tumultuous time. I’m hoping to get through a book or two about him before the trip.

My college friends and I are planning a trip to Chicago this summer. I went to Chicago with Upward Bound when I taught with them one summer, and I fell in love with that city. It is fantastic! The people are friendly. The city is clean and full of things to do. I can’t wait to hang out there with my good friends (and relax from cramming for my comps and prepare for my last month of MA classes). We might go to the beach at Chicago’s waterfront.

Traveling is so much fun. I hope that as a teacher, I will be able to use my summers off for traveling. However, it would be very interesting to travel in the fall. Cheaper rates on flights and hotels, beautiful autumn foliage, and mild weather. If I ever have a year off from teaching . . . I know what I’ll do . . .

Leave a Reply

