Forensics/Acting / Future / Traveling

Whose Idea Was This?

I really don’t understand where it started. Some guy from Smithsonian travel called me one day at school, I guess. I had sent in a card with my information on it, showing a bit of interest in traveling with my students. Of course, I filled that card out on a whim, and I had no inkling how it would all build up and come together like this. But, here I am on my first official day of Spring Break, preparing to fly to DC with 14 students in tow. There are many loose ends to tie up before we go. And, I need to start thinking about packing! I guess Forensics and parent/teacher conferences have been taking up all my time.

We started out with the idea of traveling with an agency. The guy who called me sounded really cute on the phone. Hence, Andrea and I dubbed him “the hot Smithsonian guy.” And, then Smithsonian guy transferred me to another agent, and once we saw how much cheaper we could make the trip if we did it ourselves, we turned down Smithsonian.

That began a long road of fundraising, organizing, planning, researching on the Internet, and keeping track of our money. It has been quite the challenge. I’m extremely excited to see the pay off! I also marvel at how people used to plan trips. Maybe they relied on travel agents more in the past. Andrea and I have done everything by the Internet and phone. I’m becoming an even bigger fan of google maps. You can mark out your route for the day by car, walking, or public transit! It’s fantastic.

So, why am I doing this? I know I love my students and want to give them a chance to get out of the county. I guess I love a challenge. I guess I don’t think through the decisions I make very thoroughly at times. :)

To top it all, I have an interview on Monday morning at the school where I have applied. And, I don’t have any navy pants for my navy suit jacket. Wonderful. I’m going to frantically search for some in Wichita on Sunday evening. Had I thought of this sooner, I could have bought some online. We all know that’s the only place I can find pants long enough. But, like I said, I guess I’ve been a bit consumed with everything else that has been going on. So, I choose to be optimistic about my last minute shopping trip to Wichita. I will find extra long pants at Gap, Express, or Banana Republic. All will be well . . .

Okay, okay. I’ll take my black jacket and pants along with me this weekend. :)

Leave a Reply

