Future / Jesus!

Hope is the thing with feathers. . .

Hope is the thing with feathers
That perches in the soul,
And sings the tune–without the words,
And never stops at all,

And sweetest in the gale is heard;
And sore must be the storm
That could abash the little bird
That kept so many warm.

I’ve heard it in the chillest land,
And on the strangest sea;
Yet, never, in extremity,
It asked a crumb of me.

Emily Dickinson’s poem describes my life right now. I’m hopeful for the future (even though I’m working on wretched grad school papers from the past that are preventing me from focusing on the future). A new job. New people. A new apartment to decorate (not that I did much with the first set of living quarters, but here’s hoping!).

Just last weekend, I had a down day. One of those days when you feel like nothing is going right, you don’t want to do anything, and you certainly don’t want to do nothing. But, I’m glad those times only last a little while because I have so many reasons to be hopeful. God is good. Even when we are not. He is always there, even when we haven’t cared to spend time with him at all. God has plans for me, and that is what makes me hopeful.

“Sweetest in the gale is heard” the bird of hope. That means that hope is most cherished and longed for when one is going through a tough time. It reminds me of the Casting Crowns song, “I’ll praise you in this storm.” When things are going bad–that is the time when we ought to praise Him most. Take delight in His word. Trust in His grace.

Leave a Reply

