Books! / I'm an English Nerd / Running / Teaching / Volleyball

The Last Class

Today was the last day of classes for my Masters degree in English. The listening, notetaking, and discussing is over, and now I can concentrate on writing papers (five of them) and studying for the comprehensive exam in March. If all goes as planned, I will graduate in May of 2011!

I’m a bit apprehensive about having enough time to get my papers finished before May because Thursday isn’t the new Friday anymore. My new school is not on a 4-day week, so all those weekends I spent last year writing three papers? Non-existent. However, I one less prep at my new school, so there might be more time. But, really, there won’t. With a new school, new texts, new students, and a volleyball season to coach, I will struggle to find time to write.

It’s amazing how much work goes into teaching. Once the first day has passed, it is literally non-stop work until the end of May. At least, it has been for me these first four years. Maybe the fifth is easier? I hope so! That way I can write my papers, take my exam, and then I won’t HAVE to read another book for the rest of my life.

Of course, I will read books. Just not books that come from a list put together by a professor. Rather, I will read the books that have been waiting on my shelves for so many years. Ooo! And books that I buy because they sound interesting! I have a list!! I can’t wait! :)

A random note: if you have an iPod shuffle, use it to go running! It is fabulous.

Leave a Reply

